It’s Sick

ImageIt is been said that what happens on the New year Day, is the gist of what would happen throughout the year. The New year day is celebrated, so that the whole year is filled with celebrations and happiness. But  I never actually believed it earlier, but now am experiencing it.

On the eve of new year and on Jan 1st  of 2013, I was down with fever. By the second week of the new year I recovered but my son fell ill. Then we went for a month long vacation to our hometown with the sick toddler. He recovered by the third week of Jan.

And I thought the cycle was complete. The spirit of ill health has captured us, tortured us and left us for good. No more sick days this year. But no, the evil spirit had no plans to leave us yet.125sick_tired2By the end of the vacation, first week of Feb, I was again down with fever and I lost my voice too. My Dee has this problem of losing voice on slightest fever or cold. But this was the first time I experienced it. It took more than 10 days for me to regain my voice. Not that my voice was sweet and I would have won an oscar in singing, but at least I should have my voice back to scream at my husband  “Oh please switch off the TV or reduce the volume, am having an headache”

Then it was my husband’s turn to invite the spirit. He was sick for two days and then passed the baton to our son. Babs, thankfully recovered in two days and passed the baton again to me.

And this time I was not just down with fever, but bed ridden for two days. Normally my appetite improves during fever and I eat a lot. But this time my throat was all swollen and I could hardly swallow water.

I took two days off and sent Babs to baby sitting so that I could take complete rest. When he was back in the evening his behaviour really surprised me. I feel kids do have a kind of understanding. The two days I was in bed, he would not come to me at all, even if he comes he would sit silently next to me hugging me. I breast fed him only at night.

momsick

No, it did not happen with me. Thank God!

My husband and Brother In Law (who had accompanied us to Dubai on a visit visa to try his luck in getting a job here), were of great help. They took over the kitchen and the baby care part. Since we strongly believed in equal parenting, taking care of Babs was not a new thing to Raj. So I was relieved on that part, but I would not let him clean Babs feeding bottle and sterilize them, I have to do it myself. How would I allow him to do that, when the jar of the mixer he cleaned still has some chutney in the lid between the washer, when the tea pot he scrubbed clean still has a line of tea stain in the rims, the cooker he has cleaned spotlessly still has the smell of the curry made in it? But I too was a good girl. I did not show him those things and pull his leg as I used to, but silently cleaned the vessels again.

imagesCAE16I1OThe other thing that was bothering me for last two months, was the daily headaches and watery eyes. Finally I met the Opthamologist, and guess what I got spectacled. He said the eye irritation and headache was due to strain and my right eye has a problem, which could have been permanently cured if I had done some simple eye exercise at the age of 6. Since I have not done it then, it can no longer be cured. I have to take breaks while working on the system and do the eye exercise at least 100 times a day. I never had any issues with my eyes before and so didn’t have to visit an Opthamologist, but during the eye check ups we had in school and colleges, I never failed in the vision test. I confidently read aloud the letters and thought I had passed this time too, after all I had read very small prints in the newspaper while waiting at the reception and made sure I had no vision problem and declared the same to the Doctor. Classical spectacle on eye chartBut the Doctor smiled and said ” good guess work. But sorry dear all the letters you read were wrong”. It seems I have got small numbers in both eyes and so wearing spectacles would improve the vision and help decreasing the strain. I liked people in spectacles, few looked more stylish, to some it added to their personality, some had the Buji  (BudhiJeevi – intellect) look. But I never wanted to wear glasses myself because of the maintenance it would require (yeah, you read it right, I am too lazy to clean the spectacles, wear them and then remove and put them in the case. That’s a lot of work). My husband says spectacles suits my personality (whatever!), he knows I need encouragement to wear them 🙂 .

I know it is sick of me ranting about my ill health in the blog and but i think my brain is still sick. I might get out of this in sometime. Hopefully !

10 thoughts on “It’s Sick

    • I am fine now Shilpa.. Touchwood 🙂 Actually there was a lot of nazar utaro happening with me and the baby when we were in kerala for vacation , for both my granny and MIL its a must do after every social gathering we have been to 🙂

    • Ha..ha:). Seriously, when I was in Kerala for vacation, my granny was behind me to get some chantings and phoonks done by an old lady (of the family of those who embodies God during rituals like ‘theyyam’ ), apart from nazar utaro she did most of the days. I should have listened to her!

And Thank you for allowing me to walk in your Sandals/Shoes :)

